News – SOLA 5 2009

Joachim Rieck
01 October, 2009 1 min read

SOLA 5 2009

The fifth annual SOLA 5 conference was expertly hosted this year by Brackenhurst Baptist Church in Alberton, South Africa. Brackenhurst’s hospitality and fellowship were exemplary. They catered for 450 hungry stomachs on Sunday 6 September, but such an exercise always brings a rich blessing for the hosting church.

Representatives from Zambia, Namibia, Mozambique, South Africa, a large contingent from Zimbabwe, and a handful from other countries enjoyed rich fellowship for these few days. There was a sense of elevated worship at these meetings as we heard, sang and prayed the Word of God, which was received with much gladness.

Our theme, ‘The six attributes of God-centred churches’, was based on Acts 2:42-47 and was expertly handled by our six speakers within the SOLA 5 fraternity. These were Peter Sammons (Germiston) on ‘Energised fellowship’; Jeff Gage (Boksburg) on ‘Elevated worship’; Isaac Makashinyi (Lusaka) on ‘Empowered prayers’; Grave Singogo (Lusaka) on ‘Enriched service’; Doug van Meter (Alberton) on ‘Expanded joy’; and Nico van der Walt (Pretoria) on ‘Enflamed evangelism’.

The conference was punctuated with exciting missionary reports from India, Germany, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Botswana and Zambia. The Zambian churches have also responded to Macedonian calls from Ethiopia, Kenya and Sierra Leone. We look forward to fellowship with these churches in years to come.

The annual business meeting was characterised by a peaceful and contented spirit. Two new churches were received into our fellowship – Newcastle Baptist Church, South Africa, represented by recently inducted pastor J. van Kampen; and Monte Christo Baptist Church, Windhoek, in Namibia, represented by student intern pastor Tony Mbundu. The Sovereign Grace Theological Seminary (SGTS) has moved to Lusaka, Zambia, and will operate under the watchful eye of the Reformed Baptist churches in Lusaka.

SOLA 5’s steering committee consists of Roland Eskinazi, Doug van Meter, Peter Sammons, Brian Stone, Dr Grave Singogo, Conrad Mbewe, Ronald Kalifungwa, Joachim Rieck and Christo Beetge (chairman).

We plan to hold our next conference (2010) in Harare, Zimbabwe. Plan to be there, if you can, and start saving for an experience of expanded joy!

Joachim Rieck

Articles View All

Join the discussion

Read community guidelines
New: the ET podcast!