Subscribe now


More in this category:

Droylsden, Manchester – Induction of Dr Ian Densham

March 2015

The call of Rev. Dr Ian Densham to become pastor of Droylsden Independent Church was greeted with much joy and enthusiasm, for the church has been praying for a new pastor for 15 years. 

At the commencement of the induction service on 10 January 2015, presiding minister, Mike Plant (Evangelical Fellowship of Congregational Churches), read from Psalm 11. Andrew Gilbertson (deacon) led in prayer and Steven Ryan (deacon) read 1 John 1.

The church secretary gave an account of the call. He expressed the church’s thanks to Mike for his support and help in finding a pastor. Ian had agreed to come to preach for Droylsden on Sunday 14 May 2014. After that, it was decided to invite him again. He returned on 14 September and met the deacons. After this, the deacons informed church members they felt Ian was the right man for the church.

The membership voted unanimously to call Ian as Droylsden’s pastor. Ian and Liz found a new home and on Sunday 7 December he began his ministry in Droylsden.

In his statement, Dr Densham said he had thought his preaching days were over. He had assumed the first invitation was only an invitation to preach on the Lord’s Day, but then realised the church were asking him to be their pastor.

He said, ‘My desire is preaching, pastoring and supporting what is already in the church. I am very conscious of my weaknesses. I believe in one God, triune Father, Son and Holy Spirit. I confess that the Lord Jesus Christ is my Saviour and my Lord’.

The presiding minister read Ephesians 4:7, and church members were asked to stand as a sign of their commitment to this call. The right hand of fellowship was extended to Ian and Liz and they were warmly welcomed into the church.

Rev. Mike Plant preached from 1 John 1. He summed up with his text from verse 4: ‘These things write we unto you, that your joy may be full’. This was very apt, for the calling of Ian into the pastorate brought great joy.Pic (l to r): Mike Plant, Graham Edwards, Ian Densham, Elizabeth Densham,  Steven Ryan, Ernie Greenauld, Andrew Gilbertson